Pollinger Ltd - Author's agents since 1935
Home History News Clients Estates Publishers Permissions Submissions Film Pitches Bookshop Contact Us
Catherine Fisher
Catherine Fisher
Pollinger Limited
Drury House
34-43 Russell Street

Tel: 020 7404 0342
Fax: 020 7836 9523

Pollinger In Print Bookshop
Catherine Fisher
    Visit my official website

Catherine Fisher lives in Newport, Wales with two cats. She worked as a primary school teacher and an archaeologist before becoming a full-time writer. She is also an experienced broadcaster and adjudicator, and has recently taught Writing for Children at the University of Glamorgan.


She started her writing career as a poet; her poems have appeared in many anthologies, including Twentieth Century Anglo-Welsh Poetry, Oxygen, and The Forward Book of Poetry 2001. She has also published three collections of poetry with Seren, one of which, Immrama, won the Welsh Arts Council Young Writers Prize.


Since the late 1980s she has become a highly regarded writer of fantasy for children. So far she has written more than twenty novels which have been translated into seventeen languages. Her stories are rich in myth and legend, and her complex characters have won her fans around the world.


Catherine Fisher’s work has won and been shortlisted for a number of prizes:

  • Incarceron
    Nominated for the 2008 Carnegie Medal
    Shortlisted for the 2007 CYBILS award

  • Corbenic
    Winner of the 2007 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature

  • The Weather Dress
    Shortlisted for the Tir na nOg Prize 2007

  • Snow-Walker (USA title)
    2005 New York Libraries Books for Teens reading list

  • The Oracle
    Short-listed for the 2003 Whitbread Children’s Book Award.

  • The Oracle Betrayed (USA title)
    Nominated for the 2003 Bram Stoker Award for Young Readers.

    American Libraries Association Best Books for Young Adults reading list

    2005 New York Libraries Books for Teens reading list

  • The Candle
    Won the 2002 Tir-Na-n'Og Award.

  • The Snow-Walker’s Son
    Short-listed for the 1994 W.H. Smith Mind-Boggling award

  • The Conjuror’s Game
    Short-listed for the 1990 Smarties Award.

The Obsidian Mirror
Buy from Amazon

Crown of Acorns
Buy from Amazon

  Selected Works
The Relic Master  
The Interrex  
Flain's Coronet  
The Margrave  
The Snow Walker Trilogy  
The Oracle  
The Archon  
The Scarab  
The Weather Dress  
Crown of Acorns (2010)  
The Obsidian Mirror (2012)  


Content © 2006 - 2017 Pollinger Limited



Find us on Facebook